Misconduct Tavern Burger Review

I’ve been to Misconduct dozens of time. I watched the Flyers dismantle the Penguins last year in the playoffs. I watched the opening day for the Phillies. It’s a great local bar to post yourself up at the bar, enjoy some craft beers and watch a game or two. It is however, not a very good burger. It pains me to say this because I believe overall they have great bar food. The burger was just really not good.

I met my buddy Phillyburgerquest, Esq at Misconduct on test5New Years Eve day. I was working from home and he was as well. We wanted to pick a burger in the area so it seemed that Misconduct was a perfect fit. I’ve had the mac n cheese, hot dogs, chicken sandwich before. All were very good and had little to complain about.

Misconduct Tavern: This nautical-themed bar and eatery is a favorite Rittenhouse Square spot for burgers and sophisticated bar food. Its “burger extreme” melds the two genres, boasting caramelized onions, foie gras, house-smoked bacon and a runny fried egg.

That is what the Uwishunu burger list says Misconduct offers. Unfortunately, they no longer offer that burger. According to the server, “they weren’t selling that many of them”. As foie gras is pricey, I don’t blame them for cutting this out of the menu. No point in wasting delicious Foie Gras.

We ordered 2 Yards Brawlers (drinking during the work day is underrated) and 2 Misconduct Burgers (house ground Prime Angus and challah roll) with house smoked bacon, caramelized onions and american cheese.

misconduct 1

To start, this burger looked a mess. I don’t mind a mess but the caramelized onions were all over the plate, the bacon was protruding out of the burger like my dog’s tongue comes way out of her mouth when she’s panting and it had a MONSTROUS piece of lettuce. No reason for 0 quality control.

misconduct 2

Meat: The meat was pretty OK. It was quite tasty and didn’t seem to have any fillers. Any time you get an ALL meat patty, its a win. It was however, not cooked to the medium rare that I prefer. In the picture above you can see that it’s not really that pink, which is a cardinal sin. (Score: 4 out of 10)

Toppings: While the bacon was chewy in the way that I like it, it was way under cooked and really had no smoky flavor. The onions were sweet and tasty albeit really greasy. American cheese is American Cheese. (Score: 5 out of 10)

Bun: The bun was solid. A tough on the outside, soft on the inside, slightly dense, slightly sweet challah roll. Nothing really to complain about, but it didn’t knock my on my ass. (Score: 8 out of 10)

Presentation: The burger looked like it had puked greasy onions onto the plate. Normally this wouldn’t bother me, but wtf? It’s a 15 step walk from the kitchen to the bar. I am not sure what made it so difficult to keep the burger in tact. Also, the fries were a joke. None of them were the same size, some were crispy, some were pretty much raw potato (since they were so big in comparison to the smaller fries). On a positive note, our server was great and she talked to us about the burger, bar, so that’s a plus for great service. (Score: 5 out of 10)

Overall Thoughts: I dig Misconduct Tavern. I will continue to go there to catch a Phils game or to meet a bud for an after work drink. I will however, probably never have a burger from there again. Based on previous bar selections I’ve had, I had pretty high expectations. Sadly, they were not met. The burger was as mediocre as it gets. See you in April. Go Phils. (Overall Score: 5.5 out of 10)

misconduct 3

This is deserving of a Game Misconduct

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

